Takeaways – Questions

I am new to blogging (started Jan 2013) and I seem to have a mental block when it comes to understanding a few blogging features such as “pages” and domain. I’m sure it’s all quite simple, but I am not that tech savvy so the jargons used sometimes throw me for a loop.

Multiple Blogs:

I keep reading that bloggers should decide on the theme of their blogs. Well, I don’t have one central theme yet, so I was wondering if I should set up multiple blogs that focus on different themes. For example: sometimes I share opinion about politics and current events, sometimes I write about spiritual basis topics, and I am now considering business focused writings. What is your advice for someone like me who has multiple diverse interests?

Pages:

By following your instructions on the help page I was able to set up 2 new pages and posted 1 post to each page. Now that I want to add more posts to those 2 pages, I’m stuck. Here are my questions:

How do I add new posts to “pages”?

I would like to move 2 post that I put on my regular blog page to these 2 new pages, but I’m not sure how to do that. Is it possible to move posts from one page to another?

When I figure out how to add posts to “pages”, will they appear on my regular news feed so others can see that new info has been added?

Can I do Pingbacks on topics posted to “pages”?

Domains:

Is it advisable to own my blog name by purchasing a domain address? I don’t understand this. I see some blogger with their “blogname.com” then I see others with their “blogname.workpress.com”.

Great topic, thank you for putting this out there.

3 thoughts on “Takeaways – Questions”

  1. I’m going to attempt to answer your questions. First, you do have a central theme: You. You are writing about your opinions on politics and your view of spirituality. Multiple blogs can get confusing and I would only recommend you do it if you think you can keep them all up easily.

    Second, pages only have one post to them. What I would recommend is putting your posts into categories and setting up a custom menu (see http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/working-with-custom-menus/ for info on that). This way you can link to the categories and there will be multiple posts on the page. If you want to add a new post to the “page” then you post in that category. This also solves your pingback question as each post can track its own pingbacks.

    Lastly, domains should only be used if you can afford it and want your blog to look more professional. It costs money every year to renew a domain name and if you aren’t planning on bringing in money through your blog, it may not be worth it. You can get a domain registered and mapped through WordPress for $18 a year. If you think it would make a difference to you, go for it but otherwise, keep the free name.

    Hopefully this helps you a bit. And remember, write for yourself because if you’re happy with your blog, it will show and readers will notice.

    Like

Comments are closed.