64 Days of Season for Nonviolence (SNV)…and Writing

Lately, it’s been a challenge keeping my thoughts in check long enough to write a blog post. I am stuck every time I think about writing because I have so much stuff running around in my brain. I know that the fastest way to peace of mind for me is to get my thoughts out of my head by writing them down somewhere; however, taking action doesn’t always happen.

Lo and behold, while going through my files I ran across an info sheet for the 64 Days of Nonviolence campaign. Also known as The Gandhi-King Season for Nonviolence (SNV), this campaign asks us to focus our attention on attaining peace through nonviolent actions. More info can be found at: http://www.agnt.org/season-for-nonviolence

Seeing that I have so many topic ideas and for some reason, nailing one down is daunting, my plan is to follow this 64 day campaign by using the daily suggestions as writing prompts to help me focus. I will share my thoughts/results of my actions taken towards attaining peace in my world. I see this as two-fold: 1) nonviolence and peace will be in my consciousness on a daily basis, and 2) hopefully, this will help me to focus enough to get into the routine of writing something each day. Every little bit helps as I  get back into a writing practice.

The campaign started on January 30th and runs thru April 3rd. Since this is the eight-day of the campaign and I am just coming across the info sheet, I will briefly list the Jan 30th – Feb 5th:

Jan. 30  COURAGE  Eleanor Roosevelt urged, “You must do the things that you think you cannot do.” Light a candle and accept the courage to practice living in peace.

Jan. 31  SMILING  Today, share a smile with at least 3 people, knowing that your smile contributes to peace.

Feb. 1  APPRECIATION  Write down 10 things that you appreciate about yourself, then read it aloud.

Feb. 2  CARING  Real caring is not just what we say, but what we do. Make a list of at least 5ways you can take better care of yourself. Practice at least one today.

Feb. 3  BELIEVING  Today believe that you have all the resources to move your life in the direction of peace.  Be aware of simple demonstrations of peaceful responses.

Feb. 4  SIMPLICITY  Think of 3 ways you can simplify your life and put at least one into practice today.

Feb. 5  EDUCATION  Learn about the power of nonviolence by educating yourself.  Read an article that relates to nonviolence.  Learn about human rights, diversity, ecology, history, forgiveness, spirituality, peace studies, and more.

Februrary 6th topic is HEALING. I will start writing on each topic starting with Feb 6th. I hope I will be able to keep this up for the next 57 days. Wish me luck.

